Next SFF Author: Ekaterina Sedia
Previous SFF Author: Luke Scull

SFF Author: Marcus Sedgwick

Marcus Sedgwick(1968- )
Marcus Sedgwick works in children’s publishing and before that he was a bookseller. He writes fantasy, historicals, and thrillers. His books have been shortlisted for many awards, including The Guardian Children’s Fiction Award, the Blue Peter Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. He lives in Sussex and has a young daughter, Alice. Here’s Marcus Sedgwick’s website.


The Book of Dead Days: Marvelously atmospheric

The Book of Dead Days by Marcus Sedgwick

The “Dead Days” are what author Marcus Sedgwick calls the time between Christmas and New Year’s Day, on account of their quiet, mysterious atmosphere; an idea drawn from various mythologies that hold that certain days of the year mark the time when doors to the spirit world open to those of the living. The Book of Dead Days is set entirely within the five-day period between December 27th and December 31st in a sprawling turn-of-the-century city where experiments in electricity and magnetism are indistinguishable from magic and superstition for most of the populace.

Read More


My Swordhand is Singing: Refreshingly old-fashioned

My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgwick

Are you sick of wannabe vampires who sparkle rather than self-combust in the sunlight, and who mope around high schools instead of stalking the terrified living in order to slake their never-ending thirst for blood? I know I am, which is why I thoroughly enjoyed Marcus Sedgwick‘s My Swordhand is Singing, a vampire tale that does away with modern interpretations of lovelorn emo-vamps and instead draws upon the oldest known records of these creatures in order to shape its chilling story.

Read More


The Kiss of Death: Fantastically original and exciting

The Kiss of Death by Marcus Sedgwick

Though generically named, The Kiss of Death is a fantastically original and exciting novel, full of blood, danger, thrills, mystery, and legions of the undead. It is sequel of sorts to My Swordhand Is Singing, in that it features Peter and his father’s sword from the previous book, though here the attention turns to two new protagonists. Perhaps it’s better described as a companion piece to its predecessor, as although it’s not necessary to have read My Swordhand is Singing,

Read More

Next SFF Author: Ekaterina Sedia
Previous SFF Author: Luke Scull

We have reviewed 8298 fantasy, science fiction, and horror books, audiobooks, magazines, comics, and films.


Support FanLit

Want to help us defray the cost of domains, hosting, software, and postage for giveaways? Donate here:

You can support FanLit (for free) by using these links when you shop at Amazon:

US          UK         CANADA

Or, in the US, simply click the book covers we show. We receive referral fees for all purchases (not just books). This has no impact on the price and we can't see what you buy. This is how we pay for hosting and postage for our GIVEAWAYS. Thank you for your support!
Try Audible for Free

Recent Discussion:

  1. Marion Deeds
  2. Avatar
  3. Kat Hooper
  4. Avatar
  5. Marion Deeds
May 2024