Next SFF Author: Michelle Zink
Previous SFF Author: Liz Ziemska

SFF Author: David Zindell

book review david zindell ea cycle(1952- )
David Zindell was born in Toledo, Ohio, and resides today in Boulder, Colorado; he received a BA in mathematics and minored in anthropology at the University of Colorado at Boulder. His first published story was “The Dreamer’s Sleep” in Fantasy Book in 1984; his novelette ‘Shanidar’ , which formed the core of his first novel Neverness, won the Writers of the Future Contest in 1985. He was nominated for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 1986.

Learn more at David Zindell’s website.


Neverness: Crazy-awesome ideas

Neverness by David Zindell

Nevernessis a really enjoyable “big idea” science fiction novel that takes place millennia in our future on the planet Icefall, also called Neverness. It’s kind of Frank Herbert’s Dune meets Sir Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur with high-level mathematics, posthumanism, and trippy metaphysics thrown in.

The story follows the life of Mallory Ringess, a trainee enrolled at “the Academy,” which was founded by a pseudo-monastic order of truth-seekers called “the Order of Mystic Mathematicians and Other Seekers of the Ineffable Flame,” hoping to become a pilot.

Read More


War in Heaven: An epic of galaxy-spanning philosophical adventure

War in Heaven by David Zindell

David Zindell’s space opera books, that started with the stand-alone Neverness and continued with his REQUIEM FOR HOMO SAPIENS trilogy (of which this volume is the conclusion), always scratch that itch I have for DUNE-like space opera. You’ve got the baroque world-building of a far, far future of humanity in an interstellar diaspora that combines elements of medieval and pre-industrial societies with ‘magical’ technology and gleaming ships that fold space; you’ve got bizarre human enclaves (sometimes almost reminiscent of Jack Vance,

Read More

Next SFF Author: Michelle Zink
Previous SFF Author: Liz Ziemska

We have reviewed 8287 fantasy, science fiction, and horror books, audiobooks, magazines, comics, and films.


Support FanLit

Want to help us defray the cost of domains, hosting, software, and postage for giveaways? Donate here:

You can support FanLit (for free) by using these links when you shop at Amazon:

US          UK         CANADA

Or, in the US, simply click the book covers we show. We receive referral fees for all purchases (not just books). This has no impact on the price and we can't see what you buy. This is how we pay for hosting and postage for our GIVEAWAYS. Thank you for your support!
Try Audible for Free

Recent Discussion:

  1. Avatar
  2. Avatar
  3. Avatar
  4. Avatar

    Words fail. I can't imagine what else might offend you. Great series, bizarre and ridiculous review. Especially the 'Nazi sympathizer'…

  5. Avatar
April 2024