Next Author: Kester Grant
Previous Author: Jo Graham

L.B. Graham

L.B. GrahamL.B. Graham is the author of The Binding of the Blade, a five book fantasy series, the first of which, Beyond the Summerland, was a Christy Finalist in 2005. He writes fantasy/sci-fi and contemporary adult fiction. He teaches Worldviews and serves as the Bible Department Chair at Westminster Christian Academy in St. Louis. Here’s his website and here’s the Binding of the Blade website.


Beyond the Summerland: A magnificent work

Beyond the Summerland by L.B. Graham

Beyond the Summerland is a magnificent work — an adventure story that is compelling, fast-paced, and full of deep and rich characters. Deep in scope, filled with intimate duels and the clash of armies, it is a work that still maintains a sense of what man is and how his choices lead either to ruin or rejoicing. The race to an exciting and surprising conclusion will leave you hungering for more.

The story is seen primarily through the eyes of Joraiem, a young nobleman of the Novaana, who must journey to the town of Sulare to train and learn with fellow nobles the arts of battle, history, and leadership. But unbeknownst to him, Joraiem has been chosen by the Allfather to become something greater. With a love triangle, shipwreck, and battle with evil races bent on destroying those with faith in Allfather on all sides, Joraiem must use his newfound gifts for the benefit ... Read More

Shadow in the Deep: Characters killed off

Shadow in the Deep by L.B. Graham

The third book by L.B. Graham, a Christian and Covenant Seminary grad, is probably one of the most wonderful books I have ever read. Shadow in the Deep picks up where Bringer of Storms left off after the destruction of Col Marena by Malek's followers. The prophet Valzaan is dead, and Benjiah must take his place. Aljeron must lead the people of Werthanin to safety across the sea to Cimaris Rul while the Bringer of Storms continues to use his powers to manifest rain across over Kirthanin.

But this is not what makes this book particularly wonderful. It is a book that has little new happening and more provides a preparation for the next book in the series. It truly is a middle book in a larger series — a good book, but not as exciting as the first or last book. Due to its place in the series, there are very few solutions to problems, only the conti... Read More