Next Author: Aprilynne Pike
Previous Author: Tamora Pierce

Marge Piercy

Marge Piercy(1936- )
Marge Piercy is renowned as both a poet and a novelist and has won the Arthur C. Clarke award. Her fiction includes Woman on the Edge of Time, Body of Glass, Braided Lives, Small Changes, Three Women (Piatkus) and The Longings of Women. She is the author of fifteen books of poetry, including The Art of Blessing the Day and Early Grrrl. She lives in Cape Cod, US, with her husband, the novelist Ira Wood, and five cats.


He, She and It: My favorite science fiction novel

He, She and It by Marge Piercy

He, She and It by Marge Piercy is my all-time favorite science fiction novel. Though Marge Piercy is not considered a science fiction author, this work is clearly one of science fiction, particularly in the sub-genre of cyberpunk as it was shaped by William Gibson and other writers classified as "cyberpunk." Piercy, after writing Woman On the Edge of Time, was told that parts of that novel anticipated cyberpunk; when Piercy asked what cyberpunk was, she was pointed in the direction of Gibson. Piercy writes: "I enjoy William Gibson very much, and I have freely borrowed from his inventions and those of other cyberpunk writers. I figure it's all one playground." She also acknowledges a debt to Donna Haraway's fascinating essay "A Manifesto for Cyborgs."

That Piercy borrows from Gibson and others does... Read More