Next Author: R.A. Lafferty
Previous Author: Robin (R.L.) Lafevers

Mur Lafferty

Mur Lafferty is the author of THE SHAMBLING GUIDES series from Orbit books, as well as several self-published novels and novellas, including the award-winning AFTERLIFE series. She is the host of podcasts I Should Be Writing and Ditch Diggers. She is the recipient of the John Campbell Award for best new writer, the Manly Wade Wellman Award, and joined the Podcast Hall of Fame in its inaugural year.

Click here for more stories by Mur Lafferty.

Six Wakes: A labyrinthine whodunit

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty

It may be obvious from reading some of my previous reviews that I really enjoy books in which authors successfully blend elements of detective fiction into their speculative fiction. Six Wakes (2017), by Mur Lafferty, folds the concept of a locked-room mystery into a generation-ship tale, much to my delight.

Six Wakes begins when Maria Arena, a clone, comes to consciousness in the cloning bay of the Dormire and discovers that the exterior of her clone-vat is smeared with blood. All of the six-person crew — including her previous iteration — have been viciously attacked, leaving grisly remains and destroyed equipment from stem to stern. The ship’s gravity has been turned off, the AI is nonresponsive, and their course has been rero... Read More