Next Author: Hugh Howey
Previous Author: Katherine Howe

Morgan Howell

Morgan HowellMorgan Howell is the penname of children’s author Will Hubbell. He spent five years in the army and says that this experience influences his writing. He and his wife now lives in upstate New York. Read excerpts of Morgan Howell’s novels at his website.

King’s Property: A little bit too much luck

King's Property by Morgan Howell

King's Property is the first book in the Queen of the Orcs series, and Morgan Howell's first novel. For a story in which the author does such a good job of depicting the harsh realities of the setting, he sure lets the main character, Dar, skate out of bad situation after bad situation to a point where it's just a bit too much. The explanations for each magic escape work, but it needs to change to a point where Dar takes fewer risks, or she gets in hot water by having her gambles miss now and then.

Now, I will give the author a ton of credit. King's Property is just chock full of realism and harsh stuff. Dar comes from a horrible abusive background and when conscripted/sold into the army, it truly seems like things can't get worse. Finding unlikely allies in Orcs an... Read More

Clan Daughter: Weak follow-up

Clan Daughter by Morgan Howell

After reading King's Property, the first book in the Orc series, I could see a lot of room for improvement.

The main character, Dar, was really hard to enjoy reading about and she was just a little too lucky a little too often for my taste.

Book two... Wow, can you say "more of the same"? And 80% of the book is a boring journey which sets the stage for interspecies love and actions on the part of the Orc mothers that totally contradicts everything we have been told about them. So, was the last 20% of the book work slogging through the first 80%? Not really.

The main character, Weasel, falls in love with an Orc, has an encounter with a human turned orc mage, and manages to lead a small group of survivors from a catastrophic battle back to their home. Once they get there, the story ... Read More

More books by Morgan Howell

The Shadowed Path — (2008-2009) Publisher: Seer, healer, goddess, slave–she is all these things and more. Yim is a young woman suddenly cast into slavery, a gifted seer with a shocking secret–and a great destiny. Honus is a Sarf, a warrior dedicated to the service of the compassionate goddess Karm. A Sarf’s sole purpose is to serve a holy person called a Bearer. But Honus’s Bearer has been killed by the minions of an evil god known only as the Devourer. Masterless and needing someone to bear his pack, Honus purchases Yim for the price of ten coppers — and their fates are forever entwined.

Morgan howell The Shadowed Path: 1. A Woman Worth Ten Coppers 2. Candle in the StormMorgan howell The Shadowed Path: 1. A Woman Worth Ten Coppers 2. Candle in the Storm 3. The Iron PalaceMorgan howell The Shadowed Path: 1. A Woman Worth Ten Coppers 2. Candle in the Storm 3. The Iron Palace