Next Author: Patricia Briggs
Previous Author: Peter V. Brett

Robin Bridges

Robin BridgesBy day, Robin Bridges is the mild-mannered author of the YA historical fantasy series, THE KATERINA TRILOGY, set in Imperial Russia at the end of the nineteenth century. By night, she’s a pediatric nurse who pokes small children with needles and makes them drink horrid-tasting medicines. Robin is a member of the Apocalypsies 2012 Debut Author group, as well as the Class of 2K12 and SCBWI. She lives on the Gulf Coast with her husband, one teenager, and two goofy mastiffs. She likes playing video games and watching Jane Austen movies.

The Gathering Storm: Kitchen-sink feel

The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges

The Gathering Storm is the first in the KATERINA TRILOGY by Robin Bridges. The trilogy blends historical fiction with the paranormal, and is set in St. Petersburg, Russia, in the late 19th century.

Bridges immerses us in an evocative setting. The pageantry of the Russian court is combined with that hard-to-describe fairy tale mood. Even though we see through the eyes of a heroine who doesn’t really like all the pageantry, we are swept away into a world that is elegant but filled with dark secrets.

Katerina has an innate talent for necromancy, and is sought after by a family of evil witches and vampires who want to use her ability for their own ends. In addition, she’s a debutante of noble blood and is supposed to be looking for a husband in the social whirl of the court. She also has an interest in medicine and dream... Read More