Next Author: Cam Baity
Previous Author: Paul Bailey

Alison Baird

Alison Baird(1963- )
Alison Baird is a resident of Ontario, Canada, and a graduate of Trinity College at the University of Toronto, where she earned her Honours B.A. in English and her M.A. degree. As an author she had an early start, publishing her first poems when she was only 12. In 1994 her first book, The Dragon’s Egg, was published by Scholastic Canada: it was a national bestseller and a Regional Winner of the Silver Birch Award (a children’s choice award). It is still in print and in wide use as a school reader. Her teen fantasy The Hidden World (Penguin Canada) and her novel White as the Waves: A Novel of Moby Dick (Tuckamore Books) were both CCBC “Our Choice” selections, and White as the Waves was shortlisted for the IODE Violet Downey Book Award. The Wolves of Woden, a prequel to The Hidden World, was featured in Resource Links Magazine’s “Year’s Best.” Her epic fantasy novel The Stone of the Stars, volume one of the Dragon Throne trilogy, received a starred review in Publisher’s Weekly. A Russian edition of the trilogy has since been published.

The Stone of the Stars: I’d have treasured it at 13

The Stone of the Stars by Alison Baird

The Stone of the Stars is a fun, if imperfect, high fantasy with gently feminist overtones, a coming-of-age theme, and a slight hint of romance.

The beginning is… well, inauspicious. There’s a Prologue that has the feel of warmed-over Tolkien as seen through the lens of the “back in the good old days, everyone was a peaceful Goddess-worshipper” myth. Then, in chapter one, we meet our heroine, Ailia, in a scene that has “Mary Sue” written all over it, right down to the color-changing eyes. Fortunately, it gets better.

The Stone of the Stars consists of two parts. The first section deals with Ailia’s journey from her small island to the larger world of higher education. While there, she meets the four others who will be her companions throughout... Read More

More fantasy novels by Alison Baird

The Tales of Annwn — (1999-2001) Publisher: Young Maeve is disgruntled and depressed when she is sent for the summer to her aunt’s house in Newfoundland while her parents try to work out problems in their marriage and careers. But she does enjoy Newfoundland’s rustic charms and the closeness she feels there to her favourite grandmother, now dead. Maeve’s grandmother was the author of a fantastic book about the secret world of Annwn and Maeve is delighted to discover her grandmother’s diary and a beautiful Celtic brooch that was stored with it. Then something strange begins to happen, something that convinces Maeve she is leaving Newfoundland, and in no ordinary fashion. Before long, Maeve finds herself in the Hidden World, a place she is sure her grandmother has visited too, a place that is alive with magic and danger. As she struggles to help her new-found friends in Annwn and unravel the mystery of her grandmother’s time there, she finds herself immersed in a world of legend, where Celtic myths, tales of the sea and the secrets of Avalon come together in a fantastic and horrifying way.

Alison Baird Tales of Annwn fantasy book reviews 1. The Hidden World 2. The Wolves of WodenAlison Baird Tales of Annwn fantasy book reviews 1. The Hidden World 2. The Wolves of Woden

Willowmere Chronicles — (2003-2006) Publisher: Whenever Claire passes by Willowmere, she is intrigued by the beauty and exoticism of the estate, so out of place in the small town where she lives. Willowmere’s owner, Dr. Myra Moore, is equally fascinating. She tells Claire about the Wiccan belief system, which is not about dark spells and magic, but rather about affirming the goodness of the earth and all living things. Claire begins to read about witchcraft and natural magic on her own, trying to understand what truth may lie within its ancient lore and wondering if it can help solve the mystery of her mother’s disappearance. As she struggles to understand the powers of both good and evil, Claire is drawn towards the past, to the witch trials of the seventeenth century.

Alison Baird The Willowmere Chronicles 1. The Witches of Willowmere 2. The Warding of WillowmereAlison Baird The Willowmere Chronicles 1. The Witches of Willowmere 2. The Warding of Willowmere