The Inheritance of Orquídea: A book filled with secrets, magic, and heart

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida CórdovaThe Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida Córdova

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida Córdova2021’s The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina was practically a perfect book for me. It’s filled with fantastical magic that baffled me and thrilled me, and it brought to mind the early books of Isabel Allende. The Montoya family were complicated and realistic, in a real-world setting that simmers with magic and strangeness. While much of the story takes place in an undesignated “present” that seems very much like now (without pandemics), the history of Orquídea Divina’s life takes us to Ecuador in the late 1950s and early sixties.

Orquídea Divina Montoya appeared in the dried-up town of Four Rivers (the rivers are gone, it seems), with a husband in tow, and magicked up a beautiful house. Over the years, she coaxed the dry valley into lushness, both gardens and orchards, buried four husbands, and raised a bunch of kids and grandkids. Now the family is spread across the USA, until missives delivered in plainly magical ways appear, calling them back to Four Rivers, to “claim their inheritance.”

The book has three protagonists; Orquídea herself, her granddaughter Marimar and grandson Rey, who are cousins although they were raised together after Marimar’s mother drowned in the valley’s lake. Both have moved to New York City, and neither one is happy. They agree to drive back together. There, they find that Orquídea is facing mortality in a very strange way, and before the family’s night together ends (it ends in fire) a great-granddaughter will be born, secrets will be uncovered and ghosts will visit.

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida CórdovaMeanwhile, we meet Orquídea as a baby, born under a curse. She grows up in Guayaquil, Ecuador, in poverty, but her indomitable will leads her to meet a river monster, who offers help. Orquídea, like the flower for which she is named, is unrooted, and her drive to find rootedness, a home, will lead her many places… and bring down an even more virulent curse on her family.

In the present, the family achieves success and happiness in the seven years after Orquídea leaves mortal form and the house burned. Marimar has rebuilt it. Following his grandmother’s final words of advice, Rey has pursued his painting, and is a highly successful artist. Suddenly, over a few days, three of Orquídea’s children die, and Rey is pursued by a glowing man and nearly killed himself. The family regroups again. Now the stakes for finding and stopping the mystery man from Orquídea’s past, the so-called Living Star, are literally life-and-death.

On a trip to Quayaquil, Marimar, Rey, along with their seven-year-old cousin Rhiannon (born the night of the fire) and her parents, finally learn about the early years of their grandmother’s life, and this knowledge places them in immediate danger.

The tones of the book shift depending on the section, and the pitch is always true, whether it’s Rey being snarky, or Orquídea standing up for herself in a hypocritical and rigid society. The Montoya family is large, and Córdova evokes them concretely while not devoting chapter and verse to each person. The mix of everydayness and magic that fills the Four Rivers house makes the story believable, and I found Marimar’s and Rey’s shock as they uncover lie after life told by their grandmother to be plausible and totally relatable. The past tense story, which involves a carnival, is wonderful and strange. The ending was emotionally satisfying.

The difference between a five-star book and a four-point-five star book can be tiny, and in this case it is literally one or two sentences. The baby born at Four Rivers, Rhiannon, is clearly a magical child, and in a book filled with magic, I accepted that completely. She feels like a real child, just as her parents felt like a real couple. In Guayaquil, they are attacked by the villain, in the house where they are staying. This is the strongest attack yet, with tragic consequences for beloved characters and a terrible aftermath for Rhiannon. The book catalogues what our characters do after the loss of family; Rey gets drunk, Marimar obsessively reviews the photos they’ve found, searching for a clue, and seven-year-old Rhiannon “hid in the garden, crying and whispering to the grasshoppers…” She is magical, but she is also a traumatized child, and neither cousin even considers her feelings in this moment. Rhiannon is cared for, of course, by the native housekeeper. At this point, both Rey and Marimar dropped in my estimation. As the story continues, it never comments on their neglect. This changed how I saw Rhiannon. Throughout the book she’d seemed like a person to me — with this treatment of her by the story, I realized she was not a magical child, but the Magical Child, a plot device, not a character. While this came very close to the end of the book and I was still engrossed, I never re-immersed myself in the words and the world the way I had at the beginning. For this reason only, the book gets 4.5 stars. I know it’s picky.

In spite of this, I highly recommend this story. Based on it, I’m going to seek out Labyrinth Lost.

Published in 2021. Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author). The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations. They know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low, or why their matriarch won’t ever leave their home in Four Rivers — not for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. But when Orquídea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead, Orquídea is transformed into a ceiba tree, leaving them with more questions than answers. Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings and powers. But soon, a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orquídea’s line. Determined to save what’s left of their family and uncover the truth behind their inheritance, her descendants travel to Ecuador — to the place where Orquídea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked back. Alternating between Orquídea’s past and her descendants’ present, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina is a “spellbinding tale, both timeless and fresh, that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Prepare to fall in love” (Kim Liggett, New York Times bestselling author).

FOLLOW:  Facebooktwitterrssmail  SHARE:  Facebooktwitterredditpinteresttumblrmail
If you plan to buy this book, you can support FanLit by clicking on the book cover above and buying it (and anything else) at Amazon. It costs you nothing extra, but Amazon pays us a small referral fee. Click any book cover or this link. We use this income to keep the site running. It pays for website hosting, postage for giveaways, and bookmarks and t-shirts. Thank you!
You can subscribe to our posts via email, email digest, browser notifications, Twitter, RSS, etc. You can filter by tag (e.g. Giveaway), keyword, author. We won't give your email address to anyone. Subscribe.

Marion Deeds, with us since March, 2011, is the author of the fantasy novella ALUMINUM LEAVES. Her short fiction has appeared in the anthologies BEYOND THE STARS, THE WAND THAT ROCKS THE CRADLE, STRANGE CALIFORNIA, and in Podcastle, The Noyo River Review, Daily Science Fiction and Flash Fiction Online. She’s retired from 35 years in county government, and spends some of her free time volunteering at a second-hand bookstore in her home town. You can read her blog at deedsandwords.com, and follow her on Twitter: @mariond_d.

View all posts by

Review this book and/or Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *